Cecília, 35 – Woman trans and lesbian 

ENGLISH VERSION BELOW

Quando penso em experiências complicadas, acredito que a maior delas foi minha transição em si, vivemos numa sociedade preconceituosa que te julga pelo sexo biológico e ponto. Quando decidi transicionar tive de primeiro aprender a me entender como mulher, retirar de mim a ideia de que eu era um homem me tornando ou me disfarçando de mulher. Mas ai vem a barreira social: “E as pessoas? Como me verão?” Foram dois longos anos tentando me isolar de tudo o máximo que podia, pra fugir dos olhares, pra evitar que me chamassem de “ele” ou com medo de insultos e piadinhas na rua. Mesmo hoje, mais avançada na transição e me considerando bonita, ainda trocam o gênero dos pronomes ao se dirigirem a mim em certos lugares. É bem desagradável, especialmente pra quem inicia transição.


 

When I think about complicated experiences, I believe the hardest one for me was my transition to woman, because we live in a limited society that sees only your biological gender. Before transforming I had to understand myself as a woman, try to “unlearn” the idea that I am a disguised man. But then comes the social fence: “What about people? How will them see me?”. There were two long years trying to isolate myself from everything, to escape from the eyes, to avoid people calling me “him”, afraid of insults and jokes in the streets. Even currently, far in the transition and considering myself a beautiful woman, people still mix genders and pronouns when talking to me. It is unpleasant, specially for someone starting the transition.

