Workshop: fences kids face (boys)

WORKSHOP: Fences Kids Face
WHERE: Public School in a poor community in São Paulo
WHEN: 2nd June 2016
TASK: write or draw something you would like to do but you can’t just because you are a boy.

I would like to be a woman for one reason: because on the first date the man pays the bill. Theo, 10 years old.

I would like to cook, but I am a boy. Luiz, 10 years old.

I think “lunch” (cooking) a woman’s thing. Gabriel, 10 years old.

I like boy’s toys. João, 7 years old.

Don’t play with dolls. Only boy’s (toys). Nicolas, 8 years old.

No dolls.
No lipstick.
No makeup.
I can’t. Miguel, 7 years old.

I can’t play with dolls, go to the supermarket. I also can’t wear makeup, lipstick, ballet sneakers, boots and short shot pants. Arthur, 10 years old.

Don’t use makeup. Don’t use high heels. Don’t use short clothes. Don’t polish the nails. Don’t use hair accessories. Don’t use short pants. Don’t spend so much time in the shower. You can’t enter the girl’s toilets. Gustavo, 10 years old.

I couldn’t steal, I couldn’t fly a kite near electric wires, I can’t bully someone, I can’t punch a girl. Gabriel, 10 years old.

I would like to be a ballet dancer, but I can’t because I am a boy. Gabriel, 10 years old.

I would like to be a ballet dancer, but it is women’s thing. Guilherme, 10 years old.

I would like to be a woman because they are smarter. Leonardo, 10 years old.

 

