Ana Célia, 63 – Teacher

ENGLISH VERSION BELOW

Logo que vim de Belém (PA) para São Paulo (SP), em 1976, fui procurar emprego no Banco F. Barreto. Fui muito bem sucedida na primeira fase da entrevista, então passei para segunda fase.  Ao me dar o feedback da segunda fase, o gerente disse que eu tinha ido muito bem nas entrevistas, porém, para um cargo administrativo eles queriam um homem. Dessa vez fui substituída por um homem por conta do machismo da empresa, mas em muitas outras entrevistas de emprego, além do machismo, tinham preconceito por eu ser nordestina, e falavam que eu diploma do Pará não servia aqui em São Paulo.


Just after I moved from Belém (PA) to São Paulo (SP), in 1976, I applied for a job in Banco F. Barreto. My first interview was really good, so I was selected for the second. When giving me the feedback of the second interview, the manager told me I was perfect for the job, but they were looking for someone for an administrative position, and it must be a man. At this time I was substituted by a man because of the company’s chauvinism, but in another job interviews, besides chauvinism, I faced prejudice for being from the northwest of the country, they used to say my diploma from Pará is not valid in São Paulo.

